Reflets dans l’eau - Hortus 113

Track sample: L’Isle Joyeuse

Deux Arabesques
1. Première Arabesque — 3'49
2. Deuxième Arabesque — 3'25
Images Livre I
3. Reflets dans l’eau — 5'15
4. Hommage à Rameau — 7'03
5. Mouvement — 3'17
6. Ondine – extrait des Préludes Livre II — 3'21
7. La cathédrale engloutie – extrait des Préludes Livre I — 5'58
8. Pagodes — 4'53
9. Soirée dans Grenade — 5'16
10. Jardins sous la pluie — 3'30
11. Clair de Lune – extrait de la Suite Bergamasque — 4'57
Images Livre II
12. Cloches à travers les feuilles — 4'29
13. Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut — 5'40
14. Poissons d’or — 3'54
15. L’Isle Joyeuse — 6'02

T.T. 70'40
Co-édition Hortus - Denon
Réf. Hortus113 | Barcode 3 487 720 001 130
Éditions Hortus web site →

Accéder au site des Éditions Hortus

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)

Reflets dans l’eau

Kotaro Fukuma, piano

Audio CD price: €19.00 including international shipping
Payment via - Account:

The Chinese character ‘Ko’ in Kotaro suggests ‘light on water’ and inspired Kotaro Fukuma to develop a project close to his heart, ‘Shimmering Water’. Many composers have been similarly attracted by this image, first amongst them Debussy. Kotaro Fukuma’s superb interpretion of these water-inspired pieces by Debussy directly reflects his own self-image.

Kotaro Fukuma

Born in Tokyo, Kotaro Fukuma started learning piano at the age of 5 and has obtained many high awards in such international competitions as Tel Aviv (Rubinstein), Santander (Paloma O’Shea), Helsinki (Maj Lind), Rio de Janeiro (BNDES) and Salt Lake City (Gina Bachauer). In 2003, at the age of 20, Kotaro won both First Prize and the Chopin Prize at the 15th Cleveland International Piano Competition. Since then his concert career has developed on five continents.

He has performed in major concert venues, including Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York, Wigmore Hall in London, Philharmonie and Konzerthaus in Berlin, Gewandhaus in Leipzig, Salle Olivier Messiaen in Paris, Victoria Hall in Geneva, Auditorio Nacional in Madrid, Teatro Municipal in Santiago de Chile, Suntory Hall and Opera City in Tokyo. His performances with orchestras include the Cleveland Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony, Israel Philharmonic, Dresden Philharmonic, Île de France National Orchestra and New Japan Philharmonic. Passionate about contemporary music, Kotaro has performed world and national premieres of works by Toru Takemitsu, Mutsuo Shishido, Renaud Gagneux, Thierry Escaich, Thierry Huillet, Peter Klatzow and Francesco Milita.

He studied music at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris with Bruno Rigutto and Marie-Françoise Bucquet, then at the Univeristät der Künste Berlin with Klaus Hellwig and at the International Piano Academy Lake Como in Italy. He has also studied with several great masters of the piano, including Leon Fleisher, Mitsuko Uchida, Richard Goode, Alicia de Larrocha, Maria João Pires, Leslie Howard and Aldo Ciccolini.

Kotaro has released six CDs for the labels Naxos (Schumann, Takemitsu), Accustika (Liszt, Toppan Live Recital), Harmony (Albéniz, reedited by Éditions Hortus) and Denon (Debussy), and has received critical praise in such music magazines as Gramophone, Diapason, American Music Records, Monde de la Musique, Bayern 4 Klassik and Classic Today.